It’s the INSULIN!

I really wonder if my drinking issues weren’t really sugar issues. Make sense to me. Wine and beer are simply liquid sugar. It all comes down to insulin. For me the EFFECT (doctor’s opinion) is an INSULIN response and years of doing that has left me somewhat insulin resistant. Their is a great flow chart that Joe & Charlie have about this. Alcohol, glucose and fructose are all poison in the body and metabolize in similar ways…ie fuck with insulin.

I really appreciate how Bill and Dr. Bob where critical thinkers not willing to accept the DOGMA of their day when it wasn’t working (drinking was cause by weak character). They were both very smart guys and looked for what really worked. That’s the message in the fine print between the lines of the BB, don’t believe stuff just because others say it’s true. It’s radical stuff. It took a lot of free thinking to put the twelve steps together and I’m very grateful for their efforts.

Starting to realize that the bs dogma of our time is the calories in v calories out model. Overwhelming scientific evidence proves that it’s what we eat not how much we eat, it’s all about insulin!

Dr. Atkins (another genius who didn’t listen to DOGMA) broke over weight people into 4 groups:
1) I don’t eat that much  (metabolic problem – hypo insulin)
2) I crave food always (hyper insulin, glucose intolerant)
3) I can’t live without one food (specific food alleregy)
4) nervous eater

1,2, and 3 are all insulin related. 4 is where OA comes in.

There are many other ways to fuck up my insulin such as not get enough sleep or run long distance (chronic cardio).  So I think I’m dumping the calorie counting and just concentrating on the macros keeping carbs under 50g a day and occasionally under 20g.

IMG_0042.JPG

Leave a comment